IREM® Foundation announces 2023 President and Board of Directors

For Immediate Release

Contact: Helen Day

(312) 329-6044

CHICAGO (January 31, 2023) – The IREM Foundation welcomes its 2023 President Walter “Chip” Crumpler, Jr. CPM®, succeeding Karen Pharr, CPM®. The Foundation has also made changes to the Board of Directors, with new members appointed for the upcoming year. All changes were effective January 1, 2023.

Chip is a real estate manager with Welltower Inc. in Charlotte, NC, where he oversees their Carolinas portfolio consisting of 1.8 MM square feet of medical office property. He joined IREM in 2001 and earned his CPM® designation in 2005. As a long active member with IREM’s Western North Carolina chapter and currently serving on their Board of Directors, he served as chapter president in 2008 and was honored in 2012 as the chapter’s “CPM® of the Year.”  He enjoys assisting with student outreach at his alma mater, the University of North Carolina, Charlotte, in their real estate department. 

“I’m honored to lead the IREM Foundation, along with an outstanding team of real estate management professionals,” says Chip. “The Foundation has so many plans for growth this year, from supporting the next generation of real estate managers with expanded scholarship programs, to supporting communities through our sustainability grants, and honoring professional achievement.”

Chip will lead a board of 22 IREM members dedicated to the Foundation’s mission:

Dee Headley, CPM®, 2023 IREM Foundation Vice President
Christopher Mellen, CPM®, ARM®, 2023 IREM Foundation Secretary/Treasurer
Karen Pharr, CPM®, 2023 IREM Foundation Immediate Past President
Linda Caradine-Poinsett, PhD, MJ, MBA, Executive Director/Ex-Officio
Anshu Bera, CPM®, Director, 2021 – 2023
Neil Cadman, CPM®, Director, 2023 – 2025
Dawn Carpenter, CPM®, Director, 2023 – 2025
James A. Evans, CPM®, Director, 2023 – 2025
Cheryl Gray, CPM®, Director, 2020 – 2024
Sheryl Green, CPM®, Director, 2023 – 2025
Kaci B. Hancock, CPM®, ACoM®, Director, 2021 – 2023
Erin A. Hopkins, Director, 2021 – 2023
Roberta “Byrdy” Kelley, CPM®, ARM®, Director, 2021 – 2023
Rita Khan, CPM®, Director, 2022 – 2024
Christine Lacy, CPM®, Director, 2023 – 2025
Jo D. Miller, Director, 2022 – 2024
Lynne Miller, CPM®, Director, 2023 – 2025
Fred Prassas, CPM®, Director, 2021 – 2023
Ann Reisch, CPM®, ARM®, Director, 2021 – 2023
Michael Simmons, CPM®, Director, 2022 – 2024
Eileen Wirth, CPM®, Director, 2023 – 2025

For more information on the IREM Foundation and its Board of Directors, please visit

About the IREM Foundation

We believe that well managed real estate leads to thriving communities, and we value providing access to education and resources that assist those in the real estate management profession. The IREM Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit public charity and was established in 1977. The Foundation is exclusively supported through donations from IREM members.

Our site uses cookies to improve your visiting experience. Please view our Cookie and Privacy Policy.
Got it