The IREM® Foundation announces 2023 recognition award winners

For Immediate Release

Contact: Helen Day

(312) 329-6044

CHICAGO (October 18, 2023) – The IREM Foundation honors individuals who’ve made notable contributions and demonstrated overwhelming commitment to the field of real estate management. At the recent 2023 IREM Global Summit in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, three individuals were recognized in three award categories that celebrate their achievements in education, humanitarianism, and efforts to elevate professional real estate management.

“At IREM we believe that well-managed properties lead to thriving communities,” says Chip Crumpler, CPM® and IREM Foundation President. “The accomplishments of this year's recipients significantly impact the advancement of property management and provide a strong foundation for the future of our industry. We take great pride in acknowledging and commemorating their invaluable endeavors and unwavering dedication."

The 2023 IREM Foundation awards go to:

Lloyd D. Hanford Sr. Distinguished Instructor Award

A highly respected IREM educator, Lloyd D. Hanford Sr. was IREM president in 1958. Since 1983, the IREM Foundation presents this award to an IREM Instructor for exceptional commitment to advancing professional real estate management education.

David G. Domres, CPM®, CCIM, is the developer and architect of IREM’s financial analysis spreadsheet, which is used at multiple levels of IREM’s educational process. Dave has served on multiple review teams of numerous IREM courses, has been a member of the IREM instructor corps since 1991, and for many years supported Marquette University and the University of Wisconsin - Stout real estate curriculums as an instructor.

Louise L. and Y.T Lum Award

This award established in 1980 by Y.T. Lum, the son of a prominent Chinese Hawaiian land developer and father to 1982 IREM President Tan Tek Lum, recognizes individuals who are actively engaged in real estate management and have made distinguished contributions to the profession through education, publication, or the advancement of ethical and professional standards.

Kathy M. Whitman, CPM®, has significantly impacted IREM through diverse roles such as editor for the 18th Edition of "Principles of Real Estate Management" and as a key contributor to various course revisions. Her instruction style never forgets - “I stood in your shoes at one time.”

J. Wallace Paletou Award

For more than 50 years, this award honoring the legacy of J. Wallace Paletou, 1957 IREM President, is presented to an ARM® or CPM® who has made significant contributions to the real estate management industry or contributed to the betterment of society as a whole through the role of real estate manager.

W. Alan Huffman, CPM®, served as IREM President in 2000, after having held various leadership roles leading up to his presidency. As an IREM instructor, he’s played a crucial role in educating and positively influencing individuals in their real estate management careers. Beyond IREM, Alan was president of the Wichita Area Board of Realtors in 2006, receiving the Distinguished Service award in 2007, and the Broker of the Year award in 2010. For six years, he served as the IREM representative to the National Association of Realtors executive committee.

For more information about the IREM Foundation and its Board of Directors, please visit

About the IREM Foundation

We believe that well managed real estate leads to thriving communities, and we value providing access to education and resources that assist those in the real estate management profession. The IREM Foundation is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit public charity and was established in 1977. The Foundation is exclusively supported through donations from IREM members.

Our site uses cookies to improve your visiting experience. Please view our Cookie and Privacy Policy.
Got it